By Wyoming First Lady Carol Mead

Artwork by Wyoming High School Students

$6.95 - Paperback

$14.95 - Hardcover

Great present for children!

Click here to order!

Wyoming State Parks and Cultural Resources
   Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    Contact Us

Agency News

Deadline Approaching for Wyoming Arts Council's Blanchan/Doubleday Writing Awards

Posted: Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Contact: Rachel Clifton

Deadline Approaching for Wyoming Arts Council Blanchan/Doubleday Writing Awards

The deadline is fast approaching for the Wyoming Arts Council’s Blanchan and Doubleday Memorial Writing Awards. Applications are accepted online via Submittable at The application deadline is March 9.

The Neltje Blanchan Memorial Writing Award and the Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Writing Award are made possible through the generosity of a private donor.

The Doubleday Award of $1,000 is given for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script written by a woman writer. The Blanchan Award, also $1,000, is given annually for the best poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction, or script which is informed by a relationship with the natural world.

Both awards are designed to bring attention to writers in Wyoming who have not yet received wide recognition for their work, and to support emerging writers at crucial times in their careers.

Poets, fiction writers, essayists, and script writers who have published no more than one book in each genre and who are not students or faculty members are invited to apply by submitting manuscripts and an entry form by the deadline.

The juror for this year is Melissa Kwasny. She is the author of six books of poetry, including Pictograph, Reading Novalis in Montana, and The Nine Senses, which contains a set of poems that won the Poetry Society of America's 2008 Cecil Hemly Award.

She is also the editor of two anthologies, Toward the Open Field: Poets on the Art of Poetry 1800-1950 and I Go to the Ruined Place: Contemporary Poets in Defense of Global Human Rights.

Kwasny teaches off-campus in Lesley University’s Integrated Teaching through the Arts M.Ed. program, for which, since 2000, she travels to teachers throughout the West, helping them learn to use poetry writing as a powerful language for student expression as well as a creative tool for deeper understanding in all subjects. She has an M.A. in Literature and an MFA in Poetry from the University of Montana.

A complete list of eligibility requirements and additional information can be found on the Arts Council website at For more information, contact Rachel Clifton, 307-777-5305 or

Photo caption: The 2018 Blanchan and Doubleday Memorial Writing Awards juror, Melissa Kwasny.