By Wyoming First Lady Carol Mead

Artwork by Wyoming High School Students

$9.95 - Paperback

$17.95 - Hardcover

-- Free shipping! --

Great present for children!

Click here to order!

Wyoming State Parks and Cultural Resources
   Facebook    Twitter    YouTube    Contact Us

Agency News

WAC Blanchan/Doubleday Writing Awards Announced

Posted: Friday, January 15, 2010
Contact: Mike Shay

W. Dale Nelson and Nina. S. McConigley, both of Laramie, are the winners of the Wyoming Arts Council’s 2010 Blanchan/Doubleday writing awards.

Nelson is the recipient of the Neltje Blanchan Memorial Writing Award for nature writing. He will receive a $1,000 prize for his entry, “A Retrospect of Poems.”

Honorable mentions in this category go to Marcia Casey of Wilson for a group of poems entitled “Purl” and Jenn Koiter of Laramie for her creative nonfiction entry, “Labyrinth.”

McConigley receives this year’s Frank Nelson Doubleday Memorial Writing Award for women writers. She will receive a $1,000 prize for her short story, “Fenced Out.”

Honorable mention goes to Michelle Sherwood of Green River for a novel excerpt, “Trona.”

Judge for this year's competition was Aaron Abeyta, an award-winning poet and novelist who teaches at Adams State College in Alamosa, Colorado.

The competition is sponsored by the Wyoming Arts Council and funded by artist and arts patron Neltje.

For more information about the Wyoming Arts Council’s programs for individual artists, contact Michael Shay at 307-777-5234.